🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Feedback wanted on 8/16-bit music

Started by
2 comments, last by BenjaminTibbetts 8 years, 4 months ago
Hello! I'm a musician with experience creating audio for games, but I haven't done much of that work for a while. I am hoping to get back into it. I'd like to experiment with imitation 8-bit and 16-bit music, keeping flexibility for incorporating newer-sounding samples. I could really use some feedback on my work from thoughtful listeners. Please know that I have a relatively deep background in music composition and I'm looking for advice on audio production quality, general usability, and specific game-related topics rather than music composition or theory (although I'm open to those criticisms as well).
Thank you in advance. happy.png
~Ben
My website: www.bentibbetts.net
Advertisement

i listened to brass and castlevaniaish, both are quite good. I'm not a real music aficionado, but i do enjoy chiptunes. I can't really say much as far as technical praise or dissaproval, as i could about art - I just don't have the knowledge or vocabulary for it, but they sound good.

Both have an oldschool 'feel' to them, but they are more technically polished, which could be good or bad depending on if you want authentic sounding, or 'new' chiptunes. The little I know about origional old-school chip tunes - they were generally made by programmers who got forced into the task, read a little about musical theory, slapped together some scales, and called it music. Or so I've heard.