🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Feedback on Score

Started by
5 comments, last by CCH Audio 8 years, 4 months ago

Hello

I'm a newbie here - my name's Phil and I'm composing soundtracks as a hobby.

I'd like to show you three of my tracks and ask for your opinion.

The first track is a medium paced action/adventure score that works well with fast sequences; the next two tracks are mellow and dark-

Please see them in this Soundcloud playlist: Soundtrack2016

Thank you!

Phil

Advertisement

I listened to 'from revealing 2' and I think it could be pretty good with some mixing changes. When you have a track thats build on long sustained string drones you need something to break it up. You're using the big drum hits to do just that, but they're mixed too far under so your ear never really follows them. You can't really side-chain strings and drums without it sounding odd, so that leaves you with stereo field and EQ. The drums already sound wide but they may be too far out. Maybe move them closer to center a few degrees. The low end of the drums come through because the strings are mostly higher, but our ears will always favor mid-high over mid low. The strike of the drum is going to be higher in the 3khz range and that's what we're not hearing clearly enough. Boost the drum EQ around 3khz and maybe add a little compression punch. When you do this the drums may end up getting kind of muddy from the EQ/Comp change, I would mono out their sub-300hz levels and keep the higher frequencies where they are.