🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Where can I find any level planning outlines?

Started by
2 comments, last by Gian-Reto 8 years, 3 months ago

Hello everyone there...

I'm a Chinese student, interested in game designing and making.(Yes, and this is my first topic here.)

I've been reading a book called Ultimate Game Design -> Building Game Worlds, which says I can find useful documents reference for level planning on www.gamedev.net.

[sharedmedia=core:attachments:31206]

Well, here I am...

Registered and been wandering for a while, >>but<< unable to find what it says to be here...I would be grateful if anyone can tell me where can I find documents like this (Partly because the copy I have is in Chinese):

Level Planning Issues

Place: Where does the game take place? In a cemetery, or in a tunnel?

Time of a Day: Is the time changing? If it is, will it have any visual effects?

Weather: Is it raining? In a storm? Blizzard?

Level Planning Outlines, that is.(If that is what it is called.)

Can anyone tell me where can I find documents like that (if any)?

(I apologize if I made grammar or spelling mistakes. I'm still trying to improve my English)

Advertisement

Hi and welcome.

Did you check the articles section of the page? Check the top menu bar, "articles" (third from the left)...

I am pretty sure though, even if you don't find the article the book is talking about, you will get a good response here on the forum if you can ask specific question you want answered. This forum is filled with people knowledgeable about the subject, so do not fear to ask your question.