🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Unwrapping similar models to same texture

Started by
3 comments, last by riuthamus 8 years, 3 months ago

I'm a programmer, not a 3D modeller but in the not so distant future I might have to recruit a freelance 3D artist to create some characters for me, and I want to know more about this subject so I can specify how I want the deliverables to work.

Consider the case:
I've got a chest piece in 2 versions, male and female.
I want them to share the same texture (or set of textures)

The meshes are different - it might just be the case that one mesh is a deformation of the other, but there might also be vertices/tris that aren't shared between the meshes (boobs :) )

Is there any technique to have 2 unwraps of similar meshes be compatible so they can share a texture? I know of course it's theoretically possible but is it easy to do using existing tools?

Developer journal: Multiplayer RPG dev diary

Advertisement

Well, depends on how much work you want to do...

You can always unwrap in your 3D Package of choice, and then manually adjust the unwrapping later. Meaning, pulling the vertices into the right place until everything fits nicely.

A lot of work? Yes. But as long as the two objects have a similar topology, and the seams at similar places (as opposed to the same topology with completly different seams, which will never fit nicely without any texture stretching), you will be always able to make it fit.

Now, in your example texture stretching should be pretty fine. If pieces are more distorted, that might turn into a problem (Like trying to fit pants from a dwarf to a tall, skinny guy).