🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Allegorithmic Substance for Non-Artist, Tools for Amping up Graphics?

Started by
12 comments, last by JEJoll 8 years, 2 months ago

Hey Everyone,

I'm finishing up development on a small game I'm working on, and I've started planning (quite in depth) the next project I'll be working on, which will be pretty large scale.

Bare with me while I describe the game a bit.

In a nutshell, it's going to be a first-person walking simulator/puzzle/exploration game developed in Unity with a heavy story. For the final product (which, if my huge plan goes accordingly, should be released sometime in late 2017/early 2018) I really want to have gorgeous graphics. However, I'm a programmer, not an artist, so I'm really going to be stretching/expanding my skillset for this project. I do however have a little bit of modelling experience in Max.

When I think about the games that have inspired this project, at least as far as graphics/environments go, I think about the following (to give you an idea what I'm going for):

• The Witness (minus the kind of cartoony style)
  • Layers of Fear
  • Mind: Path to Thalamus
  • Gone Home

The game, as far as I've planned so far, will only have maybe one other character that you ever see in the game, so the environments really need to be engrossing.

The majority of the game will take place outside, but there will be many scenes inside a modern home and small structures found within the outside environments, as well as inside something more decrepit (think Outlast, etc. for these scenes). So the environments are going to be quite varied.