🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

2D cyberpunk game concept

Started by
3 comments, last by Kris Dangsurisri 8 years, 2 months ago

Hi everyone,

I am new here. I just want to show you guys my early concept of the game I am doing. It is very much like Shadow Run. There will be no main story or anything. You go to different areas, get different types of job, complete them, earn money, spend the money to modify your body and buy better weapons and equipment, getting harder jobs. I am trying to design the combat scene to make it different and have something to do more than just input commands (fight, defend, use item).

But all those could be just a dream. Because I am an artist and totally have no programming knowledge. My friend who does the coding has been very busy with his day job (couldn't blame him for that. I own a business, so I have more free time). So if anyone finds this concept interesting and want to join, I am open. Let's discuss. There are few key concepts that I really want this game to be.

- Cyberpunk, retro-futuristic and dystopia atmosphere (like many crappy movies during 80s-90s)
- Full of cyborgs

- Able to destroy body parts

- It will be 2D pixel art game.

If you were born during 80s, you know what Cyberpunk is.

fs.jpg

PS. I did most of the graphic in the picture, except the background. I took it from internet, just for concept design.

Advertisement

Looks really good. I actually like what I think is the fight system in your concept. I guess that part of the window on the bottom means you can pick your "path" through the fight?

About the programming part: don't give up. Either you find a guy that can team with you, or if you really want and have the patience, learn the basics yourself, just enough to program a bare bones game yourself.