🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Good tools for indoor-map editing / architecture

Started by
6 comments, last by Hodgman 8 years ago
A few million years ago, I picked up Lightwave and used it ever since for making my indoor maps. Or at least the raw geometry files to begin with. It works pretty well, though being an allround tool, I'm pretty sure my specific "indoor-game-mapping" needs are probably covered by more specialized tools throughout the years.
So, can you guys advise me a program/editor that:
* Not TOO difficult - I'm a programmer, not an artist :p
* Excels in geometry/UV editing
* Focusses on indoor mapping - corridors, rooms, windows, door portals, stairs)
* But can also do more funky shaping (arcs, bows, curves, pipes - damaged stuff)
* Does (auto) UV mapping / texturing
* Gives a good preview (can fly or walk through it, gives a good sense of the dimensions)
* Can import/export at least OBJ files
* Can do (auto)subdividing (I'll need a certain degree tesselation for vertex-painting purposes)
* Produces "clean" models, suitable for a game. Not a billion triangle mess with holes.
* Cheap / free would be nice
For the info, asides from a good preview, I'm not looking for advanced renderers, or "complete" game-engines like Unreal where you can insert entities and everything. Just need an OBJ file with geometry, texture/material names & UV. All further decoration is done by my own tools.