🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Generating and Rendering Ground Surface

Started by
1 comment, last by Gian-Reto 8 years ago

Hello All,

New to the forum and new to game development in general. I started taking a computer graphics class at MIT OpenCourseware to get the lay of the land. I'm an engineer (aerospace) by trade, and have little classical training in low-level languages. I'm learning more about C++ and OpenGL concurrently. Learning by doing.

The first assignment was to load a .obj file and make it rotate, change its color, etc... I expanded this assignment to include include a typical FPS type camera movement, like a minecraft style camera with no gravity, floating ominously in empty black space... Fixing that is where I'm running into issues...

I've since figured out how to display a relatively simple surface. It is a 3D sine wave F(x,y) = sin(x) + sin(y). I create an equally spaced mesh in x and y and calculate a z. I collect all the vertex information and use GL_QUADS to render my polygonal surface. This works great, except when I try to render too many polygons. This is my first problem:

How do I efficiently store this data? Is there an "industry standard" way to store/render a 2-d mesh of data? I can't think of any other way to render a hilly landscape than to do some sort of 2D meshgrid and map an altitude (Z-axis) to it.

My implementation has 3 parts:

Vec_V, which is a vector of type Vector3f which stores 3 floats, being the xyz coordinate of the vertices

Vec_N is the same, except it stores the normals

Vec_F is vector<vector<unsigned> > . Each element is a group of 4 integers, which are the vertex indices that go together to make a quadrilateral.