🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Comments/suggestions/critiques On Composition Portfolio?

Started by
4 comments, last by Regeniversity 7 years, 9 months ago

Greetings all,

I've been writing music for pretty much as long as I can remember in some way or another. I've had a lot of experience playing instruments as well before and throughout school and focused on performance and theory in college. I'm trying to get into creating music (and hopefully sound design as I practice that more) for video games. I think that my compositions have some fairly unique qualities to them which could make games more memorable although so far all I've written for are my own projects and ideas.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts anyone has about this portfolio I've put together! (the reason it's titled Sound Design is because I intend to add another player beside that soon with examples of SFX I've made and I think even composition technically makes sense to fall under the umbrella of sound design)

Thanks,

Alex

Advertisement

Hey,

there is a lot of hiss in the background in some tracks and it's very heavily limited/compressed from what I can tell, louder isn't always better even if Metallica think so! The music sounds good, I think it's worth spending some time on cleaning up your sounds to get a more professional finish imo.

If you're recording through outboard gear I recommend using a plugin like Floorfish, it's a noise gate which cuts out unnecessary noise. You can also use tools like Edison (FL Studio plugin) to remove noise.