🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What to expect from level designers?

Started by
5 comments, last by sunandshadow 7 years, 10 months ago

Hi all,

Recently I worked on an indie game with procedurally generated levels. Obviously there are pros and cons. At some point I'd like to be involved with something a bit more designed but I have no experience with level designers, so here's my questions:

• What does a level designer expect, e.g. tools, guidance?
  • What should you expect from a level designer, e.g. complete levels, unskinned but working levels, diagrams?
  • How does the role overlap with other parts of the creative process?
  • How does a level designer work with the rest of the team, e.g. do they directly ask for art assets, leave it to someone else, etc?

For example could you say something like the below and expect a reasonable result?

• Here's a bunch of prefabs for my levels
  • Here's the general theme and background
  • Here are the basic mechanics available in my game
  • Here are the types of challenges I want the player to face
  • I want a level with X rooms, Y entrances and Z exits
  • Here are some gameplay moments that I want, e.g. getting chased down a mirrored hallway by a monster

Thanks,

JT

Advertisement

There are a ton of different ways to approach this, so you get to pick whatever fits your technology and team best.

Some level design approaches involve the designer making a "white box" level design, which artists can then paint over (not literally). This lets them start testing functionality early on and the artists can go away and replace the assets.