🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Programmer with passion for JRPGs seeks Artist

Started by
2 comments, last by Poskusin 7 years, 7 months ago

Hello everyone!

I'm a capable programmer looking for an equally capable and passionate artist to develop a top down jRPG or similar game. I would like to work with someone who is willing to help brainstorm, design and bring to life a classic that will bring nostalgic gamers back to their childhoods.

I would like to market and sell the game when completed, but I am more interested in creating something we can be proud of.

I'll be developing in java using the libgdx opensource library. This will allow portability to desktop, mobile and possibly even web.

I like many am inspired by early games such as Sword of Vermillion, Shining Force, Secret of Mana/Evermore, Chrono Trigger, Breath of Fire, Harvest Moon and so many more. If it sounds like we might click, send me a pm.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Advertisement

hello, we are a new team building a MMORPG, would u like to join us? if so e-mail me at: jgakamix@gmail.com

JRPGs tend to have a lot of art, too much for a single artist. So you may want to look for 2 or even 3. Non-pro artists also tend to have strong areas and weak areas, so it's best to have each artist work on only what they are good at. You just have to divide responsibilities such that contrasting styles aren't a problem - like having one do maps and backgrounds, and another do monsters. It can look bad if you have multiple artists doing the same type of thing, because their styles won't be identical.