🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Sharing ideas

Started by
19 comments, last by Oxyd 7 years, 5 months ago

I have an idea for a game- I have a ton of concept art for it and I know the overall direction I want it to go.. but I really think I could use community feedback on some aspects of it. the only thing is I'm a bit worried about someone swooping in and taking my idea before I can even begin to work on the actual game.... do any more seasoned Devs have experience with this? Does anyone know some way I could protect my work and still get the feedback I need? How common is theft in the indie community??

EDIT;

thank you for your responses! Im very new to game development and am obviously not breaking any barriers anytime soon but I come from the art community which tends to be riddled with theft- I'm glad to hear that the Dev community doesn't seem to have that same issue! 9it probably helps that most people with this interest are a bit older) again, thank you and I'm excited to get some honest feedback on what I'm working on!

Advertisement

Everyone has their own ideas. Everyone thinks their ideas are good, so they're too busy working on their own ones to steal yours.

Game design is hard -- experienced designers are better at it than beginners and have no need for your ideas.

Game development is a very slow and/or expensive endevour, so there's always going to be way more game-ideas than finished games.

You can't protect a game idea anyway -- copyright protects implementations of ideas, not the ideas themselves.

Everyone is standing on the shoulders of giants and remixing existing culture. Your own ideas that you're keeping a secret almost certainly build upon existing ideas. Is that "theft"?