🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

3d Models - Sci-Fi Buildings - Do I really need all the texture maps?

Started by
6 comments, last by Gian-Reto 7 years, 5 months ago

Hello Everyone!

So I'm designing out some unique sci-fi buildings for a game we're in the process of making. Basically, they're an arrangement of different sizes and colors and will be made into tiles that fit onto a grid. The game itself won't be a simulator, I just plan on doing it this way so we can map-build efficiently and we can also sell on our Turbosquid store.

My question is :

Do I really need to go into every single texture map? By texture maps I mean Diffuse, bump, normal, specular, height, etc... I have no real technical experience when it comes to 3d modeling. I stumbled upon 3ds max a few years back and just found a passion for it. I've watched tons of tutorials and can model decently, but I've always been a bit confused on the necessity of all the different texture maps. I know what they're used for, but most of the time I find that a Diffuse main texture and a Specular map does the job. But since we have more people on board and we use Substance now I'm being told that normal and height maps are a little more crucial. How can I implement those into these kinds of models? Do I even need to?

Advertisement

These are some very nice models!

Developer with a bit of Kickstarter and business experience.

YouTube Channel: Hostile Viking Studio
Twitter: @Precursors_Dawn

Do I really need to go into every single texture map?

Considering there is a infinite amount of texture maps I would say: no.

A texture provides you with 4 channels multiply by an X and Y value (RGBA)* (XY); with some creative thinking there is nothing you cant store in a map and if you add vertex color also you can do any thing.