🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

3D Modeling Rigging and Animating for Monogame(Xna) pipeline?

Started by
2 comments, last by BBeck 7 years, 4 months ago

hello everyone here is the dilemma im facing, I'm a C# developer and lately i decided to work on a Game idea i had for so long, but it's gonna be a pet project(will be working solo) luckily I'm good at making 2D art because i like to paint but i have no experience regarding 3D Modeling and only so little experience with 2D game using Monogame aka Xna, the reason i use or willing to use monogame is because i find it easier to work with than other Game Engines (weird i know). anyway since im going to be working solo on the project i need to create some models to test my idea and see how my conceptual Game model would work and look. so i started searching for how to create models and how to animate them but i understood that whichever Game Engine you decide to use will determine certain choices such as what 3D software works best with the Game Engine or framework you choose(correct me if im wrong in my conclusion/ understanding) also i found that tutorials are labeled by both the Game Engine and the 3D Software but found nothing related to MonoGame regarding 3D game other than very basic things, i basically just want to create one character model with basic animation so i can experiment with it.

so i want to know if there's anything specific i need to do while creating, rigging and animating a model before importing it to MonoGame?

also if anyone made some modeling for Monogame what 3D software is recommended? cause i need to jump in and learn how to model the character i already sketched :) .

Advertisement

this is a monogame related question.

the first thing to do is determine what file formats monogame supports.