🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Modeling/Sculpting a Human Character vs Using a Human Mesh Generator

Started by
8 comments, last by BBeck 7 years, 4 months ago

Hi all,

This is just something I'm curious about actually. Do people here prefer to go on ahead and model/sculpt a human character from scratch or use some sort of baseline mesh generator program (like MakeHuman) and tweak it a bit? Why one or the other? I'm especially curious to hear from people who are indie and from people who are in the industry.

I prefer to use the mesh generators mainly because I'm a one man team, and doing this makes my life significantly easier, makes my main modeling go much faster, and lets me put finalized pieces out much quicker onto my website.

No one expects the Spanish Inquisition!

Advertisement

As a solo dev I always try to take advantage of exiting assets when possible to save time. I'm trying to build entire games, not just models.

Norm Barrows

Rockland Software Productions

"Building PC games since 1989"

rocklandsoftware.net

PLAY CAVEMAN NOW!

http://rocklandsoftware.net/beta.php

I don't think any professional artist would use MakeHuman or any similar software as more than a reference, maybe only if they are pressed for time.

Art is about showing your own interpretation of a object, using pre-made meshes tends to prevent the artist from reaching your own goals.

Using any pre-made assets is considered the same as using a other artist's work along with yours and then claiming that it's yours, professionals avoid this so that the work can remain there own.