🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

voxel maps suitable to quickly create content?

Started by
-1 comments, last by sqwirx 7 years, 2 months ago

I wanted to make something but I am not a artist. So, I wanted to try an approach that makes it easy to create some programmer art with minimal amount of work.

I got the idea of using voxels because these tools are easily mastered.

However, the best tools don't support large grids (i am using magicavoxel right now) and making a large world in a voxel tool is also tedious and results in a lot of data. So, then it followed logically that I would have to use a tile map editor to arrange a limited set of voxel objects into a larger world.

My proof of concept is to have a large space ship you fly over, destroy stuff, turrets, missiles, and whatever else comes in mind, force fields, black holes.

I threw together a OGL voxel proof of concept, you can see the video here:

(Note, it is not optimized in any way, performance or visually.)
(Note: i haven't yet created all the voxel objects you see in the 2d tile map)

But seeing the result I am now seeing a few problems:

- overpasses are problematic (this could maybe be solved with multi layer tile maps but I think it would still be quite difficult matching skewed shapes assuming you don't want overpasses on straight pillars )

- color matching of the voxel objects. You need to keep a strict palette to avoid having slight color deviations. And only one voxel object can be edited at once so you don't see the problem until you try the level.

- repeating tile patterns