🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Style for a game, feedback much appreciated.

Started by
3 comments, last by kalamelle 7 years ago

I'm creating a game that will simulate a simple economy. One where thousands of individual AI will participate in farming, logging, hunting, war and so on. The player(s) will be able to participate in the simulation and influence the direction of some of the AI in an attempt to win majority influence over all AI. The players will compete against other players.

Imagine for a second what this game might look like if it was 3D and was on a 3D planet. What level of art would you deem acceptable? If it was a browser game?

In order to achieve this lofty goal I've had to sacrifice visuals. In addition I'm not a kept artist and it's been a number of years since I've furthered my art.

Here is my conundrum, as of right now I'm attempting to make this game look real---ish in order to visually capture a human relate-able-ness for the game. I worry that the current look may take away from the intended objective of the game( which relies heavily on the players imagination to generate purpose and drive to play, much like classic Civilization, Simcity and 4X games. ) I'm biased when I see progress in the way this game looks, but only because it looks better than the last build I created.

I've attached some proposed pictures for the intended style, please critic them in any way. I can only make this project better if people tell me what's good and what's not. Does the style I'm currently working with take away or add to the game's idea? Does the art and style draw you into this idea more or does it disinterest you? If it disinterests you I'd like to hear your thoughts on what you'd expect and want from a game that does the proposed I've outlined in the first paragraph.