🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Here is some of my work, would love some opinions!

Started by
4 comments, last by Sigurdmusic 7 years ago

Mjellow fellow music and audio nerds!

Quick story about me: I'm a 25 year old musician, drummer/guitarist. I have been touring Europe many times since I was 18, in different bands. Mainly within the rock/metal genre.

I've always had a flair for songwriting, and a deep love for video game music. A friend of mine works in the game industry, and needed music FAST for a deadline, since the original composer dropped out last minute. He asked me if I would try to make a score. Mind that I NEVER tried it before, so I said yes ( stupid as I was haha ). But it actually turned out pretty good. that's only one and a half year ago, and now doing it fulltime when I'm not touring. I love this damn industry!

Well that was the short version. And I actually just want you to listen my ''new'' score. It's actually an older score, but it's part of my demo reel.

Tell me what you think. Good and bad! 

Hope to be a much bigger part of this forum!

Advertisement

Thanks for sharing your stuff! I've got quite a few ideas for how you can make this (and future pieces) more effective. Many of the samples used are of lower quality. Also the production of the music itself could use quite a bit more attention. Things I would look at: 

• more automation to help phrases come off more musical.
  • more reverb/FX to help with the lower fidelity samples. 
  • your higher pitched string samples are poking out of your mix pretty bad, leaving a lopsided balance. 
  • your percussion groove is a bit lackluster. Look for ways to liven that up some. 
  • some of your mix is distorting and is quite muddy due to both the harmonies you're using as well as the octaves and panning placements.