🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Do I really need another bachelor's degree specifically in game art to get hired in a big studio?

Started by
3 comments, last by GameDevSeal 6 years, 5 months ago

Do you really need to get a degree specifically for game art or would be a bachelor's degree in design such as graphic design sufficient and learn everything else with online courses and tutorials by yourself? Also, is a master's degree also benefical or not?

I am really confused right now, because I took a 2-year-diploma-course in graphic design and right now I am doing my bachelor's degree in Information Design, where I absolutely don't have the feeling that it prepares me for the game industry at all.

And I have found a relatively cheap bachelor's programm in the Netherlands that is called International Game Architecture and Design where I will learn 3D modelling, character design, animation and whatnot related to the art side of game development. However, I already have a good background in illustration. And my dream is to work as a concept artist in a really big studio such as Blizzard.. Would another bachelor's degree in game art be wise or would it be a waste of time, because I could teach myself all the skills or taking online courses instead of having to study for another three years? Help, I don't know what to do anymore!! I really need your advice, thank you sooooo much in advance for all of your helpful responses!!

Advertisement

I have an art degree, but I don't work as an artist. I think schooling can be useful to learn and for the experience. You can also make connections with other students and teachers, and some schools can help with job placement. I had classmates that got hired at top-tier AAA studios right after graduating, but they really excelled at their practice.