🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Career advice

Started by
3 comments, last by pcmaster 6 years, 2 months ago

Hi, Im studying Videogame Design and Development (we use Unity) and my goal is to become a videogame programmer. Those are a very generalist studies so we doesnt deepen so much on advanced programming. I have previous (non engineer) programming certification, so I can build easily almost any prototype I design.

But after a couple of years working with Unity I almost left completly aside things like OOP, MVC... So my first doubt is if I am in the wrong way. I know that I would be able to learn anything forgotten or new when I arrived at a new job. But will I even have this opportunity if there is nothing like that on my portfolio? (Because I think I have to show the code) If answer is that I need to deepen on those programming techniques, could you suggest any book or whatever that explains the need of those approaches on Unity and teach about them?

On the other hand, do you think I can build my portfolio with prototypes? Just placeholders cubes and capsules... Because I really feel like Im loosing my time modelling or rigging for a programming portfolio. I mean, I cant reach the modelling level of a full-time modeller, so on my old trys, I think my demos even look worse (bad rig and things like that) than with just placeholders. Maybe employers doesnt even look at demos and only want finished and published games?

Thats all, sorry about my bad english ^ Thanks.

Advertisement
4 hours ago, Electroner said:

Im studying Videogame Design and Development (we use Unity)

Is that a degree? How far are you into that degree?