🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Best C++ book for complete newbie?

Started by
8 comments, last by Gollum 24 years, 5 months ago
The subject says it all. I''m a complete C/C++ newbie. What is the best book to help me get up to speed? I have the Lamothe Tricks book, and I''m slogging through it, but it really bugs me not to know what so much of the code means. I mean, what _is_ a TYPEDEF? What is a STRUCT? I''m the kind of person who has to know it from the ground up. Any help greatly appreciated. - Chris the Newbie
Advertisement
A good book for learning C++ is "Teach Yourself C++" by Al Stevens. Don't let the name fool you, it's a great book and Al Stevens is a respected name in the field.

Also, if can afford it, get "The C++ Language" by Bjorne Stroustrup. This book won't help you learn as good as the one above, but it is a great reference and it covers every little aspect of the language. By the way, Stroustrup is the person who created C++.

If you get through those books, get "Programming Windows" by Charles Petzold. This will help you out with Windows, since Lamothe's book really doesn't have the room to cover Windows properly.

You have a lot of work ahead of you, but these books will help out a lot. One more I recommend to every programmer is "Code Complete" by Steve McConnell. You may want to hold off on that one until you get better at programming, but it's the best programming book I have ever read.

Edited by - I-Shaolin on 1/24/00 12:57:12 PM
As a last ditch effort, you might want to try C++ for Dummies. I think it is by Michael Hyman.
SAMs put out a book "Teach yourself C++ in 24 hours" or something similar. Its very good - concise, but it covers a lot of ground in a relatively small book.
Try:
C++ from the Ground Up
by Herbert Schildt
published by Osborne Press