Advertisement

Check Collision in advance

Started by October 07, 2018 12:22 AM
24 comments, last by Fulcrum.013 5 years, 11 months ago

hello!

it's my first post here so... i want to say just that my english it too bad so i'll do my best to be clear as possible as i can.

i'm a student so i'm trying to understand a lot of stuff, in this case i have to check in advance if my gameobject will fall off the ground after a certain distance, for example i'll attach here a screenshot to be more clear, asl you can se if my gameobject is continue moving forward will fall of the ground, what i want to do is check in advance it then change some stuff to avoid it.

someone know how to do it and can help me?

thank's you in advance

screen4.PNG

Find a normal vector from wall to closest point on object. Now project speed of your object to it normal. As result you will have a time required to reach a wall. Now project speed to wall direction vector. From distance from normal base point to end of wall you will find is your object will hit wall or miss it movimg with current speed. For circle as object and linear wall it works simple.

By other world build a basis on closest to object wall point , alligned allong a wall, convert object speed vector to its basis and check is ray built on object velocity vector started from closest to wall object point intersect a wall segment and t of intersection will give a time to impact in case in case intersection exists.

For cilcular shaped object Minkowskiy sum make it task much simply. You can just shift walls inside a rooms by radius of circle and use a center of circle as closest to wall object point.

It works simple for constant velocities. But for accelerated movement like a gravitation and so on it much harder task becouse trajectory of body is not linear and require to solve quadric or higher power equation numerically.

Its  problem complitely described by Brian Mirtich into his PhD tesis

#define if(a) if((a) && rand()%100)