🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Should I work in HCL?

Started by
6 comments, last by CaptainVG 5 years, 8 months ago

I have been working in a small game company for three years now and my family wants me to work at HCL which isn't a game company but has instead offered game testers to test games that are being outsourced.

Ok so my family is hellbent on me getting into HCL(Hindustan Computers Limited) and they are trying to force me to work there because of three reasons.

1. A family member is working there.

2. Its a large company so it means less stress and more compensations.

3. It gets to give me more opportunities.

I worked as a game tester for nearly two years now but the problem is that HCL appointed me as a test engineer and I don't know automation testing. I also don't feel like I can fit in there because of it not exactly being a game company but rather an outsource company. And I believe that its a scam that they are offering as they say that you get paid by simply playing games. 

It also is disrupting my comfort zone as I'm used to this company that is a 30 minute distance compared to the other one which is more than 1 hour distance and I'm not sure of the timings. I am also very doubtful about it because once I start working there, I cannot leave there until after two years. I have yet to ask my cousin regarding work ethics and how exactly less stressful it is there compared to what I am dealing with here but I would like to get advise from you guys. Should I work at HCL?

Advertisement
5 hours ago, CaptainVG said:

Should I work at HCL?