🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

"No default constructor for object of type 'MyClass'" in MyClass::opAssign

Started by
5 comments, last by WitchLord 5 years, 7 months ago

Why does this script error? What's the correct way to write a boilerplate opAssign? (You can probably tell I'm not too experienced with C++.)

class MyClass {
    int x;

MyClass(int x) {
        this.x = x;
    }

MyClass opAssign(const MyClass &c) {
        x = c.x;
        return this;
    }
}

I tried adding an empty default constructor (MyClass() {}) and that made it compile but enter an infinite loop when opAssign is called. I don't want to have a default constructor (that means constructor with no arguments?), it doesn't make sense to have a default value for x in my domain.

Advertisement

http://www.angelcode.com/angelscript/sdk/docs/manual/doc_script_class_ops.html#doc_script_class_assign_ops

Your opAssign is declared to return a copy of the MyClass instance (return by value), that is why the compiler tries to make a copy by first creating a default instance and then assign the values to it. 

To be correct your opAssign method should be returning the instance by reference or by handle. 

AngelCode.com - game development and more - Reference DB - game developer references
AngelScript - free scripting library - BMFont - free bitmap font generator - Tower - free puzzle game

Ah yes thank you.

I'm not sure if this is a bug, but when I call a method of a null object, execution of the script stops completely with no error:

class MyClass {
    void foo() {}
}

void id() {
    print('marco ');
    MyClass a = null;
    a.foo();
    print(' polo'); // never reached, no error
}

I'm also executing the script from inside a dll-proxied monstrosity, so I'm not sure how this snippet would behave in a more normal setting.