Advertisement

architecture/stack ideas for 4x game with interactive console

Started by December 16, 2018 04:55 AM
6 comments, last by CrazyCdn 5 years, 8 months ago

Hello!  I'm working on an idea for an interstellar 4X strategy game, and although I have a lot of experience as a web programmer, there are a number of challenges here and I could use some help figuring out my "stack".  First, I'd like to use HTML/CSS for my display, even though I initially intend the game to be a single-player desktop game; the browser is a powerful design tool and responsive to changing window sizes, so I need to know how to do that. 

Second, the simulation is going to get big, possibly millions of rows of data tracking different objects and attributes.  I believe I'm going to need a real database as the backend.  Maybe PostgreSQL, because I know it and like it.  But -- I'd like to package and distribute my game as an "app" or "installer"... can I bundle a real database into it and yet keep that transparent from the user?  How?

Third, I'd like to build an interactive console into the game, so the user can issue commands to his planets and starships by command-line commands.  These would allow him to interact with game objects and perhaps write little scripts for them.  (My thinking is that this will allow him to automate the many little tedious micromanagement issues that happen in 4X games when the empire gets beyond a certain size later in the game.)  I have no idea how to implement this (either the console itself, or the commands and scripts that the user can enter).