🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Angelscript Shaders? Post Processing Effects Help!

Started by
4 comments, last by WitchLord 5 years, 4 months ago

Hello again!

This is DrMeowEyes.

I am currently writing a 2D top down game using Angelscript. I am new to Angelscript and wondered if there is a way to post process the screen. I can't find documentation on how to apply a shader to a real time scene using Angelscript. A simple example would be to blur the scene or create a basic lighting system to create soft shadows for objects. Does anyone have some information they can point me to on how to go about creating shaders for post processing affects using Angelscript? Or is there a different way of doing it not using Angelscript? The game is written in Angelscript so I assume I have to use Angelscript to create the shaders. Perhaps not?

Thank you,

DrMeowEyes

Advertisement

Hi, you might be misunderstanding what AngelScript is.
It's a scripting engine that can be given game engine classes and functions, but it's not a game engine in itself.
Out of the box Angelscript has no notion of rendering pipelines or physics systems.
What you're after is some specific integration of AngelScript with specific functionalities exposed to it.
You're better off indicating what game engine you are using in case there are people with knowledge about that entire setup as what you are after would be understanding a specific rendering system or its integration to AngelScript.

Hi MrFloat,