🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Need help on optimizing my AI program

Started by
0 comments, last by DrawForTheWin 5 years, 3 months ago
Hello GameDev.net community! I'm not sure if this is the right forum or topic to post, but this is my first post so please bear with me.

I'm working on a program that will solve any Connect 4 position on the fly. However, the program is specifically designed to solve Pop Out. Pop Out is a variant where it plays exactly like the original except players can additionally remove one of their disks from the bottom of the board causing every other disk that was on top fall down. I'm an intermediate Connect 4 player myself, and I have been coding in general for a while, but this is my first time creating an AI solver for ANY game. As far as I know, there are NO Connect 4 Pop Out programs anywhere on the Internet. I also plan to solve more Connect 4 variants like Power Up and Pop 10. I will want to use this codebase to solve those respective variants. All of the code is written in C.

Currently, my program uses a one-dimensional array data structure for the game board. Some other variables include another array to keep track of the heights of each column, a move counter to determine which side to move, and a self-constructed vector containing played moves. I have developed functions to do both drop and pop moves and their undo equivalents. I also have a function to check whether either player has a four in a row in all vertical, horizontal, and diagonal directions. There can be a possibility of both players having a four in a row after a pop. The player who popped is declared the winner. The only code that is missing is a check if the position was repeated at least three times. This is because a full board is no longer a draw under this variant.