Advertisement

Game Programming 101 with C++

Started by March 04, 2019 07:47 PM
12 comments, last by 8Observer8 5 years, 6 months ago

Hello! I am a bit new to this, so pardon my etiquette. I am a student who is currently learning the basics of programming with C++ and I intend on expanding my knowledge further outside what my classes will be teaching me as I make my way towards an Engineering degree. I would like to throw my hat in on my spare time to learn to program 2D games that are based in C++, but I do not know where exactly to start doing so, particularly in the area of what software I need and can get to turn the limited black-background-white-text output from "Windows Visual Studio 2017" to generating the images/menus/sounds/visuals/controller-input needed to at least have the basic tools required to make a game.

So, long story short: what software do I need to start programming a video game? Where can I get it? Any advice, tutorial links, or input would be much appreciated! Thanks!

2 hours ago, KPK said:

Hello! I am a bit new to this, so pardon my etiquette. I am a student who is currently learning the basics of programming with C++ and I intend on expanding my knowledge further outside what my classes will be teaching me as I make my way towards an Engineering degree. I would like to throw my hat in on my spare time to learn to program 2D games that are based in C++, but I do not know where exactly to start doing so, particularly in the area of what software I need and can get to turn the limited black-background-white-text output from "Windows Visual Studio 2017" to generating the images/menus/sounds/visuals/controller-input needed to at least have the basic tools required to make a game.

So, long story short: what software do I need to start programming a video game? Where can I get it? Any advice, tutorial links, or input would be much appreciated! Thanks!