🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Finally! After 4 years of development I can show my unique aiming system

Started by
12 comments, last by EdgardFelipe 4 years, 3 months ago

Hi,

I've been developing my game Zombie Hunter inc for 4 years already and recently I was finally able to record its first video.

The game features quite a unique aiming system which, from my humble knowledge, has never been used in any other game. The best part of this system is the ability to aim for weak spots of any enemy (head, legs) in a top-down setting which is impossible in standard twin-stick shooters.

Check out the video and tell me your thoughts:

Advertisement

Gfx look great, and the aiming is interesting.

But have you tried to filter the camera rotation angle? Watching the video it feels not comfortable, somehow twitchy or jumpy.

I can not imagine if this is still an issue while playing, but guess it would be for me. Some smoothing could be worth it eventually.

I've thought about smoothing but my game relies on precise mouse input to function (headshots), so I decided not to introduce that. I can tell you that around 30 people played the game already and only two said they cannot play. But even those two quit because they were overpowered by other players - they felt they are way to slow to learn the controls, they did not feel dizzy. So you are absolutely correct after a few minutes of play the dizziness fades away ?

@JoeJ Did you watch it on a huge home cinema?

Usually watching gameplay is making me dizzy, but not this time. It even made me wonder why it is not making me dizzy.

I watched it on a tablet. The dizziness while playing yourself is much less than the dizziness while watching others playing. Just like driving a car.