🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

HOW TO MAKE SPAWN DELAY ON SFML

Started by
2 comments, last by bakar12344 4 years, 3 months ago
/*Hello, I am a newbie.
I have problem with my program,i make a program to spawn some object falling from top with random area, but my object spawn together,can you teach me how to make my object spawn with some delay. Thanks

My Code*/

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

#include <stdlib.h>

#include <time.h>

using namespace sf;

int main()

{

srand(time(0));

RenderWindow window(VideoMode(1200,600),"PROJECT");

int k = 0;

float x[50],xb[50],y[50];

for(int i = 0; i < 50; i++){

x[i] = 0;

y[i] = 0;

}

Texture buah1,latar;

buah1.loadFromFile("pir.png");

latar.loadFromFile("background.png");

Sprite pir(buah1),background(latar);

while(window.isOpen()){

Event tutup;

while(window.pollEvent(tutup)){

if(tutup.type == Event::Closed)

window.close();

}

window.clear(Color::White);

window.draw(background);

if(k == i){

xb[i] = rand() % 1200;

x[i] = xb[i];

k++;

break;

}

else continue;

}

pir.setScale(0.2, 0.2);

pir.setPosition(x[i],y[i]);

y[i] += 0.5;

window.draw(pir);

}

window.display();

}

return EXIT_SUCCESS;

}
Advertisement

Spawn delay would require some form of a timer.

https://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.5/system-time.php

I use a fixed time step for my updates so I just set the rate based on my update frequency and factor in how often I want to spawn an item. Example, if I update 30 times per second, but I want my spawn to occur every 5 seconds I would have a counter that would increase by one per update cycle and when it hits 150 updates (with 30 updates per second you would have 5 seconds pass to reach 150 - assuming perfect ticks) then I spawn the item and reset the counter.