🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Gameplay Programming - What steps to take?

Started by
6 comments, last by Alberth 4 years, 1 month ago

Hello,

I want to be a Gameplay Programmer and I'd like to know what steps to take

Note: I'm a newbie and I have everything to learn. I understand UE4 is not the only engine out there and it's just a tool but it's the one I'm currently interested on using.

My situation: I'm in a 4-year college program in CS currently learning C++. I have very basic knowledge of Python, JavaScript, and I've also used classes, actors, inheritance and polymorphism in Scala. This has all been in a college setting.

I have read about the difference between engine programmers and gameplay programmers. I would like to one day collaborate with designers and have a say on the direction of a game. Working on gameplay systems but not focusing solely on one aspect. From my understanding, this would be more likely accomplished by a gameplay programmer.

Questions:
1. As both a learning method and a way to show knowledge (on a resume), would you recommend fully developing a game or working on separate mechanics?

2. At what point of learning C++ should I start learning Unreal Engine 4? (For example: After learning about actors, inheritance, and polymorphism).

I've read that Blueprints allow you to get started with UE4 without learning much C++, but for my career goal, is it a good idea to start using Blueprints as I learn C++ or should I learn more programming and then use mostly C++ in UE4?

Advertisement

@Sigilo_07 Hey there,

So my friend who has been coding in C++ for many years now opts for the Unity engine. It could be worth checking it out. A lot of people prefer Unity when it comes to programming, most of my friend opt for Unreal that don't really have too much coding knowledge.