🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Sport Team Management

Started by
4 comments, last by RuthStewart 2 years, 9 months ago

Hello. Here it goes the information about the project and myself:

- My goal is to program a sport team management game and make it work on the Internet. I don't expect to make money out of it. It is just a hobby. And the goal is to get it running, not it being a specially good game. I have a clear idea of how I want the game to be. I guess I would have to change some things in the process, but the game structure is clear in my mind.

- The only programming language that I know is Java. I am a complete amateur, so the time I can spend in learning new skills is lmited. I want to keep the project as simple as possible.

- I think I am pretty talented for the logic of programming. Some years ago I programmed a chess engine from scratch. It worked in my computer, but I couldn't integrate my code in any kind of server (not tried hard either). My knowledge abour servers and databases is non-existent. I also programmed some small desktop things for my own use in the past.

So my question is if my goal is realistic. And some advice for getting it done and not to get stuck in the process. Thank you very much.

Advertisement

Hello,

I have no idea what you want to code in your game, but Java is generally fine (although it may depend on what you really want to achieve wrt “the internet”). Management games are often more about proper bookkeeping than about tricky logic, so that should be fine too.