🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

3D Artist seeking a Programmer to collaborate on new game project - images attached

Started by
2 comments, last by daltonc 2 years, 2 months ago

I am a 3D artist / designer looking for a programmer to work with on a new game project that we would design and create together.

These are some mockup scenes I modeled in Blender using a basic toon shader. It's a sample of the basic visual style I've chosen to go forward with, which I've found allows me to quickly generate a lot of environmental detail.

My name is Bill and I am a 3D modeler, animator, and generalist game designer with about 12 years experience in the field and have worked closely alongside several programmers developing 3D games in that time, gaining experience from many failures and successes in game design, development, and production.

I’m searching for an experienced programmer / coder who would be excited about working on a new 3D game project with me.

Regarding the attached mockup screenshots, the rough game concept here was a variation of zombie survival set in a toon-shaded stylized environment like this. But instead of zombie-killing violence, it is more of a stealth and avoidance game where you strategically use the environment to avoid zombie swarms.

However that is just the first idea I had and I’m willing to go in another direction. I prefer letting the game prototyping and playtesting guide the game design.

I was also interested in doing some sort of quirky adventure-rpg set in modern day city and suburbs. Something along the lines of a combination of Zelda and Earthbound. The game idea could also be much more casual, like a Pizza Delivery simulator. I’m fairly open to different design ideas as long as it’s fun and accessible and we put our hearts into it.