🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Stencil stipple

Started by
5 comments, last by JoeJ 1 year, 11 months ago

I'm doing some screen-space reflections that are pretty expensive. I'd like to render them to a half-size buffer, but they require a lot of input information, so I end up with a lot of color attachments on my first render buffer.

I was thinking maybe I could draw to every fourth pixel in the initial pass, but this is exactly the kind of problem GPU logic would probably not be efficient with. An if statement would likely result in all four pixels executing the expensive reflection code.

So I was thinking maybe I could use the stencil buffer to only render to one pixel for each 2x2 group. I have never used the stencil buffer before, and it seems like something that rarely gets used.

Is this a good idea for performance? How do I set this up? I just want a stencil pattern like this across the whole screen:

1 0
0 0

10x Faster Performance for VR: www.ultraengine.com

Advertisement

Josh Klint said:
So I was thinking maybe I could use the stencil buffer to only render to one pixel for each 2x2 group.

Someone else needs to confirm, but i don't think this would help. 3 out of 4 threads would be still idle.

But you could use compute shaders instead pixel shaders, then each thread can be assigned to pixels at will. Not sure if you'd miss some pixel shader features, though.

This is a weird problem. One one hand you can do a deferred pass at ¼ resolution, but it involves a lot of memory throughput. On the other hand, you can do all the calculation in the initial render, but it would require four times as many pixels to be processed.

Josh Klint said: