🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Maya vs 3D studio max for games?

Started by
12 comments, last by harleyrana 22 years, 5 months ago
Hey im a cs student in Australia and want to start doing 3D games, and have to choose the best 3D program to get on my student discount (journeyed.com). Im thinking Maya because its strong API,cross platform, and cheaper(with the student discount). When you read postmortems on gamasutra.com they almost always say they used 3D studio max, is it really better for games? Love some advice! thanks.
Advertisement
Both work very well (you might also want to consider Lightwave though). I personally use 3dMax, but looked into Maya when I was getting started. I imagine that both become equally easy (or hard) after you have gotten some experience with them. And I imagine their abilities are very similar. One thing is that Max has lots of plug-ins to achieve things that, I think, Maya can already do. Also you may want to check the limitations that come with the student copies of each. Usually they'll give you something like so many days to use the program or certain files you can save as, etc...

Basically, just do some research and figure out which one is a more practical choice for you. And like I mentioned earlier, you may want to look into Lightwave as well. Its commonly used in Japan for 3d work.

Charles Galyon

Edited by - CGalyon on December 28, 2001 8:19:11 AM
Charles GalyonPresidentNeoPong Software, Inc.
Maya is a great program, but 3D studio Max is the program of choice for most video game companies. Just go to company websites and check the requirements for 3D artists/animators. Most will say experience in 3D Max.

Lou
http://www.louisferina.com
Louhttp://www.louisferina.com