Advertisement

Need some advice please

Started by January 27, 2002 03:34 PM
6 comments, last by PWhermn 22 years, 7 months ago
Hi all, I''m not actually new to programming, but I AM new to learning a language on my own. I''ve used computers since the Commodore VIC-20 days and have copied programs out of magazines such as BYTE, etc. I''ve altered those to include different graphics, etc. (Simple using different symbols and such so no biggie) I''ve tried to take C++ in high school, but being the only student taking that (others were taking Pascal), I didn''t receive too much help or attention from the teacher, and my personal motivation fell. I now (6 years later) work a warehouse job and am learning C++ again in my free time. I''ve applied to a distance learning course in VC++ 6 and my motivation is sky rocketing! That''s the good thing. What i''m wondering however, is when do you feel comfortable enough to actually step into a programming job? When did that comfort level hit you? I have a ways to go yet, I''m planning on working at my job still for the next few years (been there 4 already) and trying to build up my portfolio with a few applications and a few game ideas I have. But on a personal note, in the back of my head, I keep thinking what a daunting task it''s going to be to move into a world that I am new amongst those that have done this maybe since childhood and excelled at it. I''m confident in myself that I will make it in whatever industry I get into. I hope involving making games, but sometimes the amount of information tossed around is overwhelming, and the people tossing it around do so in a manner like it''s just a second language. So to end this (sorry for the long post) is there any confidence skills that would work or personal stories to share? I''m working through "Turbo C++ Programming 101" by Greg Perry and I''m doing alright from a beginners vantage point. I have plenty of books, but is there a good SECOND book to jump into after learning the