Advertisement

surprise....a windows error

Started by February 05, 2002 05:55 PM
5 comments, last by samosa 22 years, 7 months ago
hey, im fairly new to directX and windows programming, but i have bought a book and started putting in an effort(yes yes i know, very interesting) anyway, as i am no expert, i have gotten 20 errors on my first compile i have managed to fix all of them except for one, and i dont understand it, if you can, please help, im sure you would like to know what the problem is, well, here is the error message and the line of code that it is specifying.... error C2065: ''WindowProc'' : undeclared identifier error C2440: ''='' : cannot convert from ''int'' to ''long(__stdcall*)(struct HWND__ *,unsigned int,unsigned int,long)'' Conversion from integral type to pointer type requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast and the line of code.... wc.lpfnWndProc=WindowProc; //window message handler ,Matt -= kill one your a murderer, kill thousands your a conquerer =-
-= kill one you're a murderer, kill thousands you're a conquerer =-
It means you''ve not implemented the WindowFunc function, or the compiler doesn''t know where it is when it compiles that section of code.
Advertisement
thanks a lot, but now i get another error (yes im a stupid newbie, im sorry) it says this...

LIBCD.lib(wincrt0.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16

any idea of what it could be?

,Matt

-= kill one your a murderer, kill thousands your a conquerer =-
Does your program have a main function or a WinMain? From the given error it seems that you want a Windows Application project, which should have a WinMain function. Look up WinMain in MSDN (available online).

[ GDNet Start Here | GDNet Search Tool | GDNet FAQ | MS RTFM [MSDN] | SGI STL Docs | Google! ]
Thanks to Kylotan for the idea!