Advertisement

C for interactive games and windows?

Started by February 09, 2002 01:13 AM
5 comments, last by Dalik 22 years, 7 months ago
I just posted a good size topic and well it didnt go through so here it is again in a shorter version. I have been doing C in school for about 1 1/2 months and all I am doing is dos apps, and they havent even talked about windows. So I have a few questions. Can I use C for windows apps, like buttons, controls, text boxes? Can C be used for interactive menus in games? Would it be easy to do? Thnx Edited by - Dalik on February 9, 2002 2:30:58 AM
Interested in being apart of a team of people that are developing a toolkit that can help anyone product an online game? Then click here http://tangle.thomson.id.au/
quote: Original post by Dalik
Can I use C for windows apps, like buttons, controls, text boxes?

Yes, it most certainly can.
quote:
Can C be used for interactive menus in games?

It can indeed.
quote:
Would it be easy to do?

Both of these things require a reasonable understanding of the C language itself, as well as sufficient knowledge of the API you will be using. It''s not very easy to write Win32 applications (with buttons, controls, text boxes, etc) in C, but it can be done. It just requires a bit of work.

The reason you are doing DOS apps (Console apps would probably be a more accurate description) is that DOS apps are all that you need in order to understand the fundamentals of the language. Windows apps generally come later.
ReactOS - an Open-source operating system compatible with Windows NT apps and drivers
Advertisement
Well that helps, so I should be able to load ms vc++ start a mfc exe app then add buttons and code, I know it cant be that easy but could you point me to some help in this area?

thnx again
Interested in being apart of a team of people that are developing a toolkit that can help anyone product an online game? Then click here http://tangle.thomson.id.au/