Advertisement

It can't be that hard...can it?

Started by February 19, 2002 02:00 AM
10 comments, last by Overload 22 years, 6 months ago
Hi, I''ve been trying to have something to do with making games for ages, doing different things. I started learning programming (dos stuff) but once I got into making windows applications (in another book) I got bored, and stopped. Then I started art stuff (drawing, 3D modeling, design, writing) I''m good at those now but I want to go back to learning programming aswell. But my question is, do I really need to learn the windows apps or can I just skip the basics and learn something like game programming?
The question is a little academic. I suppose you could do that, but how are you going to get the game on to the screen?

ShadeStorm, the Day_Glo Fish
ShadeStorm, the Day_Glo Fish
Advertisement
quote: Original post by Overload
Hi,

I''ve been trying to have something to do with making games for ages, doing different things. I started learning programming (dos stuff) but once I got into making windows applications (in another book) I got bored, and stopped. Then I started art stuff (drawing, 3D modeling, design, writing) I''m good at those now but I want to go back to learning programming aswell. But my question is, do I really need to learn the windows apps or can I just skip the basics and learn something like game programming?

Try "C++ For The Absolute Beginner". It''s different from most books I''ve used, cause you start making little games right away, and work your way into DirectX programming and such. I''ve found it works better for me, cause it''s more practical (you''re doing something with these concepts you learned).
If you use OpenGL and GLUT, you can completely avoid windows programming until you are ready to deal with it.

http://www.opengl.org/developers/documentation/glut/index.html