Doing My Own Graphics

Started by
10 comments, last by rjahrman 22 years, 4 months ago
I just want to make shareware games (but maybe someday one will go commercial). I am a competent programmer, but I''ve always had trouble with the art side of games. I''ve never been much of an artist, but I''ve always wondered how some games get such good 2D art and textures. Does anyone have suggestions on how I could (or learn how to) do my own artwok? What techniques should I use? I''m just doing isometric games and side-scrollers.
Advertisement
For a big commercial game you can expect they have a team of artists that do nothing but art, a team of designers that do nothing but design, and a team of programmers that do nothing (heh). If you are a one man crew it is expecting a lot to do all of that. If you have a friend who likes to draw and what not why not recruit him/her and then you can focus on the programming and/or designing.
My best suggestion is get a copy of Rhino3d. Its probably one of the more simpler 3d modelers out there, and for a beginning artist its great to make things that "work". I know of many programmers that use Rhino3d to make functional art.

If your looking to learn how to draw, I''d suggest "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain" by Barbara Edwards. Its a guide for analytically minded and drawing-impotent people to get a kick start. Has a lot of references to a cognative reasons and developmental reaons for why people can''t draw (and tells you how to overcome them).

Aside from that, Paint Shop Pro is great too Just practice and don''t be ashamed. Once you have something finished, finding a real artist is going to be much easier. I''m sure just about any one of us would jump at an opportunity to have a finished game that needs an artist to fill in the blanks

No offence, but programmers can be a real pain in the @$$ to deal with sometimes ;p

-T
- T. Wade Murphy