Blender Question -- and ... my first post!

Started by
5 comments, last by Antonis Demetrios 22 years, 4 months ago
There comes a time in every game-lover''s life when he wonders if he should quite simply join in and create his own--he could certainly do better, right? Anyway, that time has come for me. Granted, I''m still in high school, sixteen, and maintain only the most minor knowledge of C++ programming; I don''t have a "team"--just a friend (who knows nothing about programming, graphics, or anything for that matter I have yet to read the most popular books about Windows game programming; I have no knowledge of one-eigth of the topics discussed on this site; I do not take art class or music but fully intend to somehow put graphics and sound into my games by myself if need be. AND despite all this, I will succeed! Now, admire my determination and grant me mercy. I come to you today with 3-D modelers in mind. I have had some ... erm ... very limited exposure to 3ds max 4 (I don''t anymore), but I am forced to find more--ah--affordable tools. That''s where you can help me. After I create my inital "Tetris" clone and whatnot, I''d like to make a 2-D overhead type game along the lines of (my personal favorite) Zelda. The project is an ambitious one, and I will more than likely fail, but that time is far off, and so I continue: I don''t want to have to draw every single thing in Paint Shop Pro, which I own--just in case you were getting the impression I am a pirate of some kind--and am interested in modeling characters or buildings in a 3-D application and then somehow (I''m not at that point of wisdom yet) putting them in my game as 2-D images. I have heard good things about this "Milkshape"-thing and that kitchen appliance you all refer to as "Blender." I downloaded the dairy and found myself on somewhat familiar ground, but I didn''t feel like experimenting too much because I''m a lazy guy at times (not good, note). Now, Blender I am trying to find at the official