🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Does anyone use Allegro?

Started by
5 comments, last by EQuaL 24 years, 3 months ago
i''m a newB here, and i was wondering how many people here use Allegro, with djgpp, or am i wasting my time in learning it???
Advertisement
i used it briefly. to be more precise, i used djgpp extensively when i was learning C, and then used it with Allegro briefly when i started programming games.. before going on the adventure that is Win/DX programming.. i made two simple games.. i''ll be careful describing them, to avoid being sued by hasbro.. the first was a game with falling blocks (each composed of four squares, tetra-blocks if you will).. the other consisted of a bouncing ball, a paddle, and blocks which were destroyed when the ball hit them.. hopefully hasbro won''t open a case against me..

but seriously, DJGPP and Allegro are great tools for learning, for the most part though games often aren''t taken seriously if they''re DOS.. i believe Allegro has WinAllegro, though i couldn''t tell you the status of that. and wasn''t Quake written using DJGPP?

pretty much, whether or not it''s a waste of your time is up to you.. if you want to get a job in the industry, you''ll almost certainly need to learn MSVC++.. but if DJGPP and Allegro suit your needs, then by all means use them..
Some people would advise you not to use Allegro, but I won't. It is very easy to learn and is not a waste of time.

If you want to program games but don't want to bother with all of the low-level details right now (i.e. sound, graphics, input), or if you want to be able to write multi-platform games easily, then Allegro is perfect. And yes it is multi-platform now: DOS, Windows, Unix/Linux, BeOS. So if you want to use MSVC++ in Windows, no prob. You're no longer resricted to DJGPP.