Advertisement

just learning art

Started by June 12, 2002 08:10 PM
8 comments, last by Rickwi22 22 years, 2 months ago
Im actually a programmer, but I cant find an artist to help me with my 3d game, so I got PaintShopPro and started playing around with it, and in a few a minutes I made IMHO a cool looking grass texture to tile over my landscape, I would like some input as to how I could make it better, and where I could learn a little more about 2d art, or 3d art. If I improved, would anyone like to play a game with my art in it, or do I stink even for a beginer, any and all constructive critisms would be appreciated. Here is the link Here Its from geocities so cut and paste it
http://pub3.ezboard.com/bhowtodrawanime

Everyone here knows a lot about art. Just ask around, you''ll get tons of links.

good luck

-Sage13
Advertisement
Aside from being a bit too vivid green, that looks pretty cool. And I''m guessing it''s much better than anything I can do. I just picked up PSPro myself and haven''t had much of a chance to dive into it yet.

What did you use in PSPro to make this?

Also, I''ve been reading some excellent articles lately in Game Developer magazine on creating good textures. While more than half the material has been way over my programmer head, there''s some great about how to create a texture and tricks to make it tile well over a large area (such as a field of grass). Check out the July issue for the latest in the "Artist''s View" series of articles.

--Roderick Smith
--Roderick Smith
Something very important is to normalize the colors so you get as little contrast as possible while still looking like grass. Your image is too shiny.