Advertisement

I'm new to the developing world

Started by May 23, 2002 06:05 PM
3 comments, last by MagsOfWar 22 years, 3 months ago
A little about myself. I''m a 12 year old that lives in Iowa, USA. I have been into computers for over 2 or more years and for most of that I have wanted to program. Then for my last birthday my parents took me to a place with different computer stuff and I saw the software: "Game Programming Starter kit 4.0" I didn''t know what all was in it but I thought it would "TEACH" me and give me the stuff to do games. I was right and wrong. It gave me things to do games and that''s about it. Also a tutorial I guess I should say, on programming with Microsoft Visual C++ and DirectX. Well, a year has past and tomorrow is my 13th birthday and I have learned more about this stuff. I did try and start the tuts but never finished because I always wanted to start something new. This summer I''m going to put all my effort into it and I''m getting a tutorial book along with it Now my request is that someone tell me a good book for a tutorial on: "Microsoft Visual C++ introductory edition" Thank you, Mike :-)
:-) I''m new, how bout you?
I found Ivor Horton's "Beginning C++", ISBN: 186100012X, to be excellent for a beginner/inexperienced programmer. Covers all the basics of using C/C++ but stops short of getting into Windows. After going through that book I read Charles Petzold's "Programming Windows: The Definitive Guide to the Win32 API", ISBN: 157231995X, to get up to speed with Windows. Then I read a bunch of books about DirectX and almost every one I've read was excellent.

Biggest thing is to actually write programs. You can get all the theory in the world, but without learning to apply it you'll get nowhere. That's where I went wrong and programming is still just a hobby for me 12 years later.

[edited by - JimboC on May 23, 2002 7:31:17 PM]
Advertisement